October 4, 2011

46th annual National Short Track Championships

All photos courtesy of Jim Ambruoso

It was a historical day for Steve Carlson, put his name in the record books by tying the late great Joe Shear with his eighth National Short Track Championship.  Pictured with Steve is Rockford Speedway's CEO Jody Deery

Jody Deery waves the green flag to start the first race of the day to cap off Rockford Speedway 46th National Short Track Championships

 Lyle Nowak has visited victory lane at Rockford Speedway many times but he never did it during the National Short Track Championships, until today.  The seasoned veteran took home the Mid-American Series Mountain Dew 75

 The famous wreath was about two feet off the ground, but Ty Majeski,Seymour, Wis; felt like a bigger man as he held off some of the best Big 8 Series competitors to win Parent Petroleum 108 on Saturday night at Rockford Speedway.

Doug Bennett won the ASA Midwest Sportsman Tour Sunoco 40-lap feature event.

Pit stop competition action saw the pit crew of #16 Steve Apel posting the fastest overall time to taking home the bragging rights

Mike Marden is all smiles in victory lane after winning the Illinois Vintage Racing Series 15-lap feature event.

The Metro Medical 40 for the All-American Sportsman main event was won by   Rich Hinerichsen II., Machesney Park, Illinois

Dennis Smith Jr. made a great last lap pass on Josh Thiering to win the Tractor Town 12-lap Figure-8 feature event

Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; came through the field and passed Heather Stark with five laps to go to win the Marden Tire 20-lap Hornet Bandit Challenge feature event