April 30, 2014

Rockford Speedway (April 26)

Photos Courtesy of Jim Ambruoso
# 3 Kenneth Brazee III, Rockford, Illinois found himself turned around in front of the field during his RoadRunner Sam's Drive-In Challenge race.

Shawn Rickelman, # 50 Rockton, IL outdistanced the field by winning the RoadRunner 20-lap feature.
Patrick Featherston II, # 71 Byron, IL battles with John Logan Jr # 94 and Howie Ware # 36 for the lead during the feature event.
Patrick Featherston II, # 71 Byron, IL wins his first feature race in the NASCAR Sportsman division by racing to the front to take the checker flag in his 25-lap feature.
Racing action in the NASCAR Late Model division saw some tight battles between drivers.  Pictured are Jerry Gille # 99, Jake Gille # 50 and Driver X  Jon Reynolds.
Alex Papini # 39 Machesney Park, IL finished his 30-lap Late Model feature event on top as he raced with Ricky Bilderback on his way to the victory.

Dennis Smith Jr # 62 South Beloit, IL gave race fans a birds eye view of him racing during the Figure 8 feature event.

Always exciting the first Figure 8 race of the season was won by # 25 Ryan Ostenson, Beloit, Wis.

April 28, 2014

Farmer City Raceway - WoO Illini 100

Photos Courtesy of Mike Ruefer
Shannon Babb celebrates after winning his first Illini 100 at Farmer City Raceway on Saturday night.
Bobby Pierce Jr. (32) and Shannon Babb (18)

Brandon Sheppard (b5), Morgan Bagley (14m) and Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr)

Darrell Lanigan (29) and Bobby Pierce Jr. (32)

Darrell Lanigan (29) and Shannon Babb (18)

Four-wide salute to the Farmer City race fans

Jason Feger (25) and Kevin Weaver (b12)

Jason Feger (25) and Rick Eckert (1)

Joe Harlan (z) and Darren Freidman (89)

Rick Eckert (1), Scott Schmitt (10), and Tim McCreadie (39)

Scott Schmitt (10) Tim McCreadie (39) and Shannon Babb (18)

Shane Clanton (25) and Chub Frank (1*)

Shane Clanton (25) and Ryan Unzicker (24)

Shannon Babb (18) and Tim McCreadie (39)

Shannon Babb pocketed $20,000 and became the eighth different winner on the World of Outlaws' Late Model Series tour for 2014.

Boom Briggs (99b) and Steve Sheppard (5s)

Tim McCreadie (39) and BobbyPierce Jr. (32)
Tim McCreadie (39) and Rick Eckert (1)

April 21, 2014

34 Raceway - Brent Slocum 50

Photos Courtesy of Mike Ruefer
Bobby Pierce Jr. scored a $10,555 payday by winning the Corn Belt Clash/MARS "Slocum 50" at 34 Raceway on Saturday night.
Bobby Pierce Jr.
Brandon Sheppard (b5) and Brian Birkhofer (15b)

Brandon Sheppard (5) and Brian Shirley (81)

Brian Shirley (81), Brandon Sheppard (b5) and Jimmy Mars (28)

Jason Feger (25) and Bobby Pierce Jr. (32)

Rodney Sanders (20) and Ryan Gustin (19r)

Tony Jackson Jr. (56), A.J. Diemel (58d) and Jason Riggs (81jr)

Bobby Pierce Jr. (32) and Jason Utter (31)

Rockford Speedway (April 19)

Photos Courtesy of Jim Ambruoso
Drivers await the command to start their engines to kick off the racing program for the night.  Pictured are the six fastest qualifiers in each division.

Three wide could be seen often in the RoadRunner division as #29 Austin Fowler, Loves Park, IL works his way under his fellow competitors.

Scott Hoeft, Watertown, Wis # 11 in victory lane after winning his American Short Tracker heat race.

Kelly Evink # 55 Machesney Park, IL drives his way past # 2 Brad Henrey, Rockford, IL onto his way to win the 25-lap American Short Tracker feature.

After a six-year layoff from racing Kelly Evink # 55 Machesney Park, IL didn't skip a beat as he raced back to the finish line to make claim of the first feature in the American Short Tracker division for 2014.

Young 15-year-old Deanna Chandler, Machesney Park, IL came to a hard stop during her feature race as she made contact with the # 78 Rob Goodman, McHenry, IL.

No stranger to victory lane is Brett McCoy, Belvidere, IL as he drove an outstanding race to win the NASCAR 25 lap Sportsman feature.

Defending 2013 track champion Alex Papini # 39 Machesney Park, IL drives under # 02 former track champion Rick Bilderback in turn three.

First time feature winner at Rockford Speedway is # 5 Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis is all smiles as he wins the NASCAR Late Model 30-lap feature.

Dennis Smith Jr. # 62 South Beloit, IL made it three wins for the night claiming a trophy dash, heat race and the main event of the night for his RoadRunner division.

Davenport Speedway - CBC/Mars Challenge

Photos Courtesy of Mike Ruefer
Jason Feger took top honors at the Corn Belt Clash/MARS Challenge at Davenport Speedway on Friday night.
Will Vaught (1v) and A. J. Diemel (58d)

Kyle Looney (14l) and Tony Jackson Jr. (56)

Brian Birkhofer (15b) and Jason Feger (25)

Brian Birkhofer (15b) and Jimmy Mars (28)

Chris Simpson (25) and Jason Utter (31)

Chad Simpson

Dave Eckrich (58) and Mike Fryar (5m)

Four-Wide Parade Lap

Brian Birkhofer (15b) and Jason Feger (25)

Ryan Gustin (19r) and A.J. Diemel (58d)
Terry Phillips (75) and Denny Eckrich (50)
Brian Birkhofer

"The Highside Hustler"

Jason Utter

Jesse Stovall

Jimmy Mars

Ryan Gustin